Problems and Solutions, I

As I mentioned on Thursday and Friday, this is a strange time for me. On the outside, everything seems “normal” for the most part. I follow my typical start-of-school routine; I come home and do typical “home stuff.” And yet, on the inside, everything seems so different. It’s a time of watching and building, but it’s also a time of great uncertainty and some inner struggle.

  • How – and when – will I “walk out” of what is old and familiar and “walk on” to a real alternative to factory-model education?
  • In the meantime, how can I build a small-scale alternative, a joyful learning community, inside the walls of a factory-model school that’s (justifiably) proud of the good job it does at being a factory-model school?

I don’t have any answers, but I do have a few thoughts to share. As I sat down to draft this post Sunday evening, I discovered Jess Pillmore’s blog about her experiences at Seth Godin’s Summer Intensive. It sounds like her experiences were similar in some ways to my time in New Orleans, but even more so. Imagine spending three full days with Seth Godin!

Earlier on Sunday I had heard two amazing insights that still have my head spinning. Many of my readers are probably familiar with the story of King Solomon’s dream at Gibeon, in which he asked for a “discerning heart” and was granted that, plus much more. I’m told that a better translation would be a listening heart … and that’s important because “every problem contains its solution within itself, if only you can listen carefully enough to hear it.”

As I said, my head is still spinning. I may be thinking about this all week. But I’ll also be listening to those two questions I asked above … listening to see if the answers are actually inherent in the questions and if the solutions are right there in the problems.

What do you think? As you look at problems in your own life, are the solutions (or the seeds of solutions) actually contained in the problems? And how do you go about listening or looking closely enough to find them?

quid respondētis, amīcī?

Published in: on August 20, 2012 at 4:37 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://joyfullatinlearning.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/problems-and-solutions-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. a.k.a Listening to the universe.

    I do think that if we can get quiet enough we will know the answer. I don’t know how it works; I just know that sometimes if I can quiet my mind and really think about the issue/problem/whatever then the solution, or at the very least the next step, presents itself very clearly. You say above that your “head is spinning.” Hard to think clearly with a brain full of candy floss!!

    Sometimes it is not what I want to hear or do, but there it is anyway.

    • Yes, that’s it exactly. It’s hard because (1) that level of silence and concentration can be hard to come by and (2) you usually only get the next step, not the neatly labeled list of 10 items you’d hoped for. I’m seeking that quiet place now and will let you know what I find.

      Thanks again! And thanks for all the inspiration your blog has brought me.

  2. […] and small-scale conversations. A study in contrasts on many different levels! But then, as I noted yesterday, my life has been feeling like a study in contrasts […]

  3. […] figured out what I want in the short term (if you followed the series of posts that began here, you’ll know why that’s so important).  I’ll have more to say about that in […]


Leave a Reply

