Problems and Solutions, III

In my face-to-face teaching world, Tuesday was the day of the annual district-wide back-to-school celebration. Imagine 7,000 or so teachers, administrators, bus drivers, custodians, secretaries, and other school people all gathered in an arena, cheering on cue and listening to a keynote presentation about how 20th-century teaching and schooling are obsolete. But then imagine this presentation in a context where the 7,000 or so had just celebrated their (quite impressive) accomplishments on the 20th-century metric against which schools are measured. It was an oddly disjointed day!

How can a very good and successful organization reinvent itself when things are so good according to all the standard measures?

Published in: on August 22, 2012 at 11:21 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://joyfullatinlearning.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/problems-and-solutions-iii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] the strangely mixed response of my colleagues (and myself) to Alan November’s talk on Tuesday, as I described it yesterday […]

  2. […] dear to my heart and I’ve admired Alan November’s work for a long time.  I even got to hear him live last summer, an experience that inspired me but irritated, even infuriated Ms. X and Mr. Y.  If I remember […]

  3. […] read until just recently, though I’ve been thinking about it ever since I heard him speak over a year ago – I’ve been thinking about the implications of his central image of the “Digital […]


Leave a Reply

