Sick … and Tired

People often say they’re “sick and tired” of things … but that’s not what this post is about.

If you’re reading it “live” on Monday, I’m sick.  Coughing, sneezing, wheezing, unable to be around people.

Sick.

Also tired.  Falling asleep on the sofa, eyes slowly closing when I sit down. Exhausted.

Tired. And sick. Did one cause the other?  No idea. Too sick and too tired to care right now.

There might be a profound point of comparison to factory-model schools, but if there is, I can’t think of it.  Too tired.  Too sick.

I had written a post over the weekend, one that possibly does have a profound point, but I’m not feeling well enough to edit it. Time for that later, when I’m well, when I’m less tired.

Teachers often complain that “it’s easier for me to just go to school than to do all that work to get ready for The Substitute.”  And all too often, we drag ourselves to school, sick and exhausted, because we think we “need” to or it’s “easier” or someone will think we’re heroic.  Or because that’s what the factory model demands of us.  Or we think it is.  Or something.

Been there, done that.  All too often.  But not today.

I hope you’re feeling better as you read this than I am as I write and publish it.  And I hope my students will do well at the tasks I prepared for them – ironically, tasks I’d prepared in a productive burst before I got sick.

“salvē,” Romans said to each other when they met.  Or “salvēte” to a group.  “Be well and healthy!”

“valē,” they said when they departed. Or “valēte.”  “Be well and strong!”

I need to work on living the phrases today so I can say them again on Tuesday.

How good are you at taking care of yourself when you get sick?  Do you try to be the hero, or do you remember to care for yourself?

Published in: on October 15, 2012 at 9:28 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://joyfullatinlearning.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/sick-and-tired/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Be well, Justin!

  2. […] motivated to spend time at school, with their students.   On the Google+ thread about Monday’s post, Pam said: Whatever it is that drives caring, make a difference teachers, we educators have a hard […]

  3. […] I got sick on Sunday afternoon, I had started thinking about labels.  Labeling and categorizing things, experts say, is […]

  4. […] wasn’t a perfect success – so many variables, and I was sick on Monday – but this is how the plan worked […]

  5. […] If you’re a regular reader of this blog, I apologize!  Once I had finished articulating the pain of 20th-century, factory-model learning materials and schools, I suddenly found myself in that busy time of year called October … and then, as it often happens when you’re too busy, I got sick. […]


Leave a Reply

