Skipping a Day

It’s been a very long time since I “skipped a day” of writing in this space … but regular readers know that there was no post yesterday.  Tuesday was a long, eventful day of traveling and thinking, as I started my journey to the American Classical League Institute in Memphis with the long drive to Decatur, Alabama, where I spent the evening and much of the morning with a cousin and her husband.  “I know what I’ll do,” I said to myself as the hours and miles passed by.  “I’ll get up early Wednesday morning, while they’re still asleep, and write That Post.”

But that didn’t happen.  We stayed up late talking and reconnecting, then spent the morning continuing the conversation.  It was an eventful day, too, with the announcement of the Supreme Court’s decision about DOMA and continued conversations about the decision on Section 4 of the Voting Rights Act.  So there was much to talk about, much to think about, much time for good food and good conversation.  And then it was time to drive to Nashville, to meet one of my ACL co-presenters at the airport.  There were more conversations, more good food, plans for the upcoming day’s adventures.  But there wasn’t much time to write a blog post.

And that, I realized, was just fine.

Over the past several months, I’ve found a rhythm and routine for blogging, a rhythm that generally works well.  There’s usually an overall theme for the week, and I develop it over the course of five posts.  Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday – somewhere between 900 and 1400 words, all connected, all related, usually with a lot of help from the lively Google+ conversations about the previous day’s posts.

Rhythm, routine, structure, and order.  They’re important and valuable … when you see them as tools that help you live your life better.  When they become ends in themselves, though, when the tool or measurement becomes the goal,  the destructive factory-mindset quickly follows.  “But I have to write a blog post today!” I thought to myself.  “After all, it’s Wednesday … and I always write blog posts on Wednesday.”

But I didn’t. And that was just fine.

I’m still thinking about Star Trek: Into Darkness and its connections with the themes of pirates and champions and badasses, with teaching and learning and leadership and community.  I’m still thinking about Debbie’s comment about the importance of diversity and disagreement in community:

the Wisdom of it is the common ground, the working together. What I didn’t hear was the respect for the other opinion and the “listening to the message” that should have taken place.
Remember my posting some time ago, with the quote, “When I give you my respect, then I am ready to learn from you.” …

We need to see ourselves as ALL good educators. We are in this together, whether we are in college, in preschools, of “old school” training, or of modern techie perspective. I listen to you; you listen to me; I learn from you; you learn from me; we tweak this idea and that; some of us take risks and try new things while others keep plugging along, trying to make a difference with the way things are.

I’m thinking about what Brendan and Roz added to that thread, too, and about the part of Teach Like a Pirate that I’ve read in the past few days.  And about Doug Lemov’s introduction to Teach Like a Champion, and the paradigms of teaching and learning it seems to enshrine.

So many thoughts spinning around, and a diverse joyful community to process and expand on them.  Many plans, much to do, but enough time and space to do what’s most important.  It all feels like an amazing gift that we can unwrap together.

So … what part of the wrapping would you like to tackle first?

Published in: on June 27, 2013 at 12:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://joyfullatinlearning.wordpress.com/2013/06/27/skipping-a-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

